Board & Advisory Network

The foundation’s Board chooses one award recipient annually, after receiving nominations and comments from the Advisory Network members. Board members and Advisory Network members serve in their personal capacity rather than as representatives of their organizations.


Chris Avery

Board Director and Chair of the foundation; founder and former Director of Business & Human Rights Resource Centre

Regan Ralph

Board Director and Secretary of the foundation; founding President and CEO (2002-2022) of Fund for Global Human Rights

Valeria Scorza

Board Director and V­ice-Chair of the foundation; Program Director of Fundación Avina

Advisory Network


Arvind Ganesan

Director - Business and Human Rights, Human Rights Watch (national of USA, based in New York City)

Seema Joshi

Fashion and IT Campaigns Director at; former Director of Campaigns at Global Witness (national of Canada, based in London)

Mauricio Lazala

Executive Director, Digital Freedom Fund (national of Colombia, based in Amsterdam)

Maddalena Neglia

Head, Globalisation and Human Rights, International Federation for Human Rights - FIDH (national of Italy, based in Paris)


Abiodun Baiyewu-Teru

Co-Chairperson of the Steering Group, African Coalition for Corporate Accountability; Country Director at Global Rights Nigeria (national of Nigeria, based in Abuja)

Aliou Diouf

Francophone Africa Researcher & Representative, Business & Human Rights Resource Centre (national of Senegal, based in Dakar)

Clément Voule

Senior Advisor, International Service for Human Rights; United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Rights to Freedom of Peaceful Assembly and of Association (national of Togo, based in Geneva)

Asia & Pacific

Tulika Bansal

Independent consultant on human rights and business (national of Netherlands, national of India at birth, based in India)

Joan Carling

Co-Convenor, Indigenous Peoples’ Major Group (IPMG) for Sustainable Development (national of Philippines, based in Cordillera region of Philippines)

Naureen Chowdhury

Head of Labour Rights Programme, Laudes Foundation (national of Bangladesh, based in Bangladesh)

Former Soviet Union countries

Manana Kochladze

Project Leader, CEE Bankwatch Network (national of Georgia, based in Tbilisi)

Ella Skybenko

Eastern Europe/Central Asia Senior Researcher & Representative, Business & Human Rights Resource Centre (national of Ukraine, based in Kyiv)

Latin America & Caribbean

​Fernanda Hopenhaym

Co-Executive Director, PODER; Member of United Nations Working Group on Business and Human Rights (national of Uruguay and Mexico, based in Mexico City)

Alexandra Montgomery

Program Director, Amnesty International Brazil (national of Brazil, based in Rio de Janeiro)

Middle East & North Africa

Mai El-Sadany

Executive Director, The Tahrir Institute for Middle East Policy (national of Egypt and USA, based in Washington DC)

Ghada Abdel Tawab

Senior Program Officer, Future of Work(ers) International, Ford Foundation (national of Egypt, based in Cairo)